Press Release: SquadraSF finalizes Elite Roster


Press Release:  SquadraSF finalizes Elite Roster, Tim Larkin joins as DS


San Francisco – Bay Area-based, SquadraSF announced today that former Kodak Galley/Sierra Nevada rider and local legend, Tim Larkin, will be joining the team as DS and Mentor of its newly-formed Elite Squad. Larkin will join the team during the Snelling Road Race in February and work with Co-Captains James Enright and Kurt Wolfgang, throughout the season.


“I think I speak for the whole team that Tim jumping on-board will raise our level of competitiveness and our motivation,” James Enright stated recently. Adding, “ I haven’t been this excited about racing in quite some time.”


Larkin, who counts a hard-fought 2005 victory ahead of a nascent David Zabriske at Copperopolis and a 3rd place at the Fichtburg Longsjo Classic among his palmares, adds a lot of depth an experience to the mostly under- 30 Elite Team.


We sat down with Tim recently to discuss his plans for 2013

What was it about the SquadraSF that attracted you to the role of  DS/Mentor for the Elite squad?


A good friend of mine and a former teammate, Trevor White, really got the ball rolling. He introduced me to Toby (Long) and Kurt (Wolfgang) from SquadraSF and right away I liked their vision for the team. It seems that a lot of teams are forced to focus on one age group or ability level whereas SquadraSF included riders of all abilities and ages and seems to equally encourage all.


I had been thinking about doing a few races next year and wanted to reconnect a bit more with the racing scene and this seemed like an ideal fit. I wasn’t interested in joining a team where it was expected that I be able to go out and win races right away. I also wasn’t interested in a strictly managerial type role so this is a nice balance between the two.

What will be your involvement with the team in 2013?


To be honest, it’s a bit difficult to say specifically at this point. I feel that the biggest help I could provide is through racing with the team but after 7 years without racing and only sporadic riding, I’m unsure if I’ll be able to get to the level necessary to help as much as I would like in that regard.


At a minimum, I’d like to be able to provide some guidance to help both the individual riders progress but probably more importantly to help the team utilize their collective talents to race as a team and win a few races. I think I can help in their transition from a collection of talented riders to a talented team that is a factor in any race they enter.


What are your goals for 2013?


My first goal is to see the team win a P12 race. That goal sounds modest but with the talented pool of riders and teams in the area is not as easy as it sounds.


On a personal level, I’ll start with finishing a race and having fun. I’ll probably do some P12 races and some masters races.  I’ll let you know in a couple of months if I have any more ambitious goals.


You’ve been away from competitive cycling for quite awhile.  What have you been up to during your time away?


I ‘retired’ from racing after my first son was born. I had been racing for 20 straight years at that point so I was ready to move on. My older son is now almost 8 and I also have a 4 year old son as well. In the meantime, I started my own architectural design business and have been remodelling a couple of houses. The remodelling of my house is finally winding down so I’m hoping to turn some of that construction time into training time. I’ve stayed connected to the racing scene by doing some coaching as we


2013 SquadraSF Elite Team:



Carmi Schulman

James Enright

Jason Thompson



Kurt Wolfgang

Lee Peters

Matt Abdalah

Tim Larkin – Rider/DS



SquadraSF Cycling Team, based in the Bay Area.

2013 Jersey



Screen Shot 2012-12-18 at 11.53.11 AM



Carmi Schulman

James Enright

Jason Thompson

Kurt Wolfgang

Lee Peters

Matt Abdalah


Cat 1/2


Eric Harold Wiecek

Gabriel Byrne

Giuseppe Errico

Jacob Gerhardt

Jesse Chebot

Kirt Fitzpatrick

Angelo DiGiovine

Chris Zappala

Daniel de Mos

David Acri

David Pouncy

Eric Davis

Mark Andersen

Matt Quann

Mike Hardy

Pablo  Espinosa

Sean Smith

Toby Long

Trevor White


Cat 3


Alex Lugosch

Chris Elbo

Cliff Goldstein

Dan Tedford

Denin Sahovic

Eric Hartsuyker

Ian Swinson

Isaac Sparling

Jared Hudson

Jason Herrick

Jason James

Jason Smith

Jeffrey (JR) Palileo

Lloyd Ranola

Mario Hernandez

Matt Hough

Mike Watts

Murat  Ozgur

Oscar Nunez

Scott Cole


Cat 4/5


Adam Raul

Alex Reimers

Barry Morgan

Brian Schuster

David Fensin

Derek Yarra

Eric Clauss

Francisco Azevedo

Franco Campilongo

Graham Abra

James Yuan

Jeff Sciaroni

John Pemberton

Juan Lopez

Kyle Yugawa

Mario Nicholas

Miko Chase

Nich Barresi

Nick Kreeger

Osman Dost

Paul Correa

Scott Hoppe

Shalom (Shlomy) Goffri

Tyler Corelitz

Vitaly Gashpar